Posted by: lavernewaddington | January 26, 2024

Backstrap Weaving – I Have a Cunning Plan….

Since I last wrote I have had and recovered from Covid…almost exactly two years since the last time I had it. For me it’s not a question of whether I have a just a regular flu or Covid….the symptoms are different enough for me to be quite sure it’s Covid. Nevertheless, I did get tested just in case it turned out be something else altogether that needed antibiotics.. We still have to do PCR tests here as the home RAT test kits are not available. I have no idea from whom I might have picked it up and I’m pretty sure that I gave it to a friend before my symptoms showed the day after our lunch together and I think that two days earlier my dentist might have been exposed to it from me as well. This is just awful and unavoidable unless we all go back to routinely wearing masks again.

I really felt the need to sleep a lot and rest this time. The problem is that I really don’t do well with not being productive. Fortunately, I had a little unfinished object which allowed me to sit and do some quiet work.

You may remember that I had gathered all these left-over scraps from old projects in order to test my idea for my wallet project. This was meant to be the prototype but I abandoned it because I had become convinced that my plan would work and that a sample wasn’t necessary.

I used multiple tones of blue for the tubular edging band rather than making it just one solid color. I love the way it came out.
The project that had combined both complementary-warp and weft structures had required only small quantities of each dyed weft color.
If you think that two wallets is one too many…..well, how about three? Yep, my latest ikat cloth is also destined to be a wallet.
The image is from a recently published book, Scissor Bags and Sheep Scissors in the Nomadic Tradition, by Peter Umney-Gray.
The warp is double the width you see here. It’s been folded in half so that I can tie the repeating pattern on both halves at the same time.
Larger patterns with wider ikat bundles seem to be easier for me to measure and mark. This one is 60/2 silk.
Using 20/2 cotton with a scattering of small individual motifs.
And there’s the blip…can you see it? At this point the warp is stretched out on my backstrap loom and I’ve removed the second application of tape which reveals all the red areas. However, one bit that was supposed remain red is now black. I’d neglected to wrap it….after having checked three times!
I had some experience with spot dyeing many years ago when I created this ikat fabric for a book cover. It’s a piece that has never been laundered.
Julie Beers sent me this photo of her work with one of the double dragon patterns that I have published.
My 30/2 silk cochineal stash. I’ve yet to come up with a project for it.

This might be next on the drawing board. I have more white 30/2 silk left as well as a new supply of cochineal. Maybe I’ll be able to add some more colors to this collection.


Responses

  1. I know we but you about the 3 color Pebble weave way too much, but it’s so cool! I’m thrilled to hear a book is in the works!

    • My procrastination comes from the fact that most of my instructional books were written after years of teaching the techniques to literally 100s of students. From that experience I learn so much about which aspects need more focus than others.

  2. Admirando tu trabajo, todo apasionante!

  3. Those ‘scissor bags’ are awesome!

    • Aren’t they? Would love to know if the pieces are woven just to make the bags.Somehow I doubt it. I’m thinking maybe they’re pieces salvaged from old worn-out textiles. Maybe one day I’ll get my hands on the book in a library and will have my questions answered.


Leave a comment

Categories