Posted by: lavernewaddington | March 30, 2024

Backstrap Weaving – What’s My Style?

One of the projects using the 140/2 silk as warp was the last two panels in my Within These Walls series.
So, here I am “backstrap weaving”. The cloth that I’m weaving is in a balanced doubleweave pick-up technique known as Finnweave which can be and is woven on other kinds of looms. I don’t think anyone is going to pick up my finished cloth and identify it as “backstrap weaving”.
A weaver from Pitumarca that I watched at Tinkuy 2010 creating weft-faced fabric on his backstrap loom.
A weaver from San Ignacio de Loyola in Peru has made the weaving of her warp-faced pattern totally loom controlled by using multiple sets of string heddles.
My weaving friend Sharon Kersten is currently sampling balanced cloth on a backstrap loom using a 15-dpi rigid heddle. Note her cool temple…push pins in a length of balsa wood.
This gorgeous sheer cotton cloth was woven on a backstrap loom by a weaver in Mexico. It’s yet another kind of fabric that I think is more accurately described as having been woven on a backstrap loom rather than with the blanket term “backstrap weaving”. The range of achievable structures and techniques is wide! (Image from the Flickr page of Teyacapan and used with her permission).
It’s always lovely when the threads have all been settled into place and I can get started on the pattern.
That’s the extent of the foliage pattern. I’ll weave this band of pattern again at the end. I am, however, continuing with the white-on-white along the sides.
And now a hummingbird and flowers start to make their appearance. This might be the only motif I weave between the upper and lower strips of foliage….keep it clean and simple, perhaps. We’ll see.
A backstrap-loom weaver from the Chamula municipality of Chiapas in Mexico.

Responses

  1. Wow, that last picture made my jaw drop! So wide! I’m sure I haven’t woven anything that wide on any kind of loom.

    Interesting topic in this blog. My two cents is that you use a backstrap loom to create the cloth you want. The cloth is not “backstrap weaving” the process is. I believe that you could create the beautiful cloth you make on any loom you choose.
    And you DO make beautiful cloth!

    • Thank you!
      Yes, that’s what I call a wide warp! I’m trying to imagine the lady raising that heddle rod with that load and then keeping it raised with one arm while she inserts what must be a very long (and probably quite heavy due to is length) sword.

  2. I’m looking forward to your analysis of the Chamula wool/cotton/acrylic cotón. I have my own ideas from studying the one I wear regularly, and I’ll compare it to your expert description!

    I just shifted from backstrap weaving to inkle loom weaving because of back and neck trouble. I miss the flexibility and elegance of the backstrap, but boy, did I feel trapped. I can stand up and walk away from the inkle loom as often as I want now, hassle-free.

    I am such a fan of your blog and your work. I’m currently working from your complimentary-warp pick-up PDF.

    • Thank you, Eileen. I’m happy to know that you’re enjoying that book and that you’ve found a way to weave that’s comfortable for you.
      I can only share with you what Kate learned and told me about the fabric created in Chamula when she visited weavers in the community on her recent trip to Mexico. It’s a fascinating garment and looks like it must be lovely and warm to wear.

  3. Thank you for a close examination of process vs. product. I especially enjoyed seeing pictures of others working at backstrap looms adapted to produce what is being made. I hope that in the future when I get a comment or question that startles me I will reflect on it — and share — in the same way as you have done here.

    • You’re very welcome. Thank you for letting me know that you enjoyed the photos of the various weavers at their backstrap looms. I have a so many photos like these from my experiences traveling and learning and I hope to have more opportunities to show them in future posts.

  4. Your latest piece is just gorgeous!

    I think that people have a hard time with the difference in the tool, ie: backstrap loom, inkle loom, etc and the pieces that can be made on them. Warp faced fabric can be made on most looms that will hold decent tension. For me, I find the absolutely stunning cloth you create on a backstrap loom just fascinating. I have floor looms, including a draw attachment so I am able to make intricate patterned cloth, but seeing you do it on what is basically a pile of sticks thrills me to no end. Keep bringing it on!

  5. Dear Laverne,

    It has been such a happy coincidence to stumble upon your blog. I grew up in Iran and India surrounded by beautiful textiles. I have always been drawn to all sorts of fiber crafts but never thought that weaving is something I could do. 

    I homeschool my children and my children are also very drawn to such artforms. I came across your website while searching for compact looms! now that I am here I do not know where to begin. We have learned basic macrame, french doll knitting and 5 string braiding and we understand the basic principle of weaving but we do not know where to begin. We have learned basic macrame, french doll knitting and the basics of warp and weft weaving on a toy loom. Please guide me.

    Warm regards,

    Sonia

    • Hi Sonia. Welcome to my blog.

      I don’t know how old your children are or your budget but here are a couple of suggestions…you could buy an inkle loom which is compact and portable and used to weave narrow bands of decent length which can be made into belts, bag straps, guitar straps, lanyards and things like that. The narrow strips can also be sewn together to make little purses and bags. There are tutorials on Youtube on how to use these looms or you could purchase a video class. Marilyn Romatka has a good one.

      A more economical alternative would be to make rigid heddles using popsicle sticks to weave the same kinds of products….look around online as there are tutorials showing how to make the popsicle-stick heddles (or you could look online for ready-made plastic rigid heddle segments.) Harrisville used to sell a backstrap loom kit that came with a rigid heddle….they probably still do. Using a rigid heddle is the best way to ease children into weaving with a backstrap loom.

      I wrote an article called Backstrap Basics which shows how to use a backstrap loom with string heddles. This is something that you could move to a little further down the track as making and managing the string heddles might be beyond what your children can handle right now. Here’s the link to the article in any case….

      Backstrap Basics Weavezine Article

      I hope this helps.


Leave a comment

Categories