Posted by: lavernewaddington | January 5, 2024

Backstrap Weaving – The Empty Wallet!

The finished sample showing its two faces. I used the structure that I call Andean Pebble Weave.
Here are my 632 ends set up with the two sets of heddles that give me my “pebble sheds”. It’s so satisfying sitting there and finally making the very last heddle and knowing that I’m all set to go.
A little progress and all going well. No broken threads yet. In the end, only one broke.
At this point, I was ready to put a bit more thought into exactly how I was going to construct the wallet and therefore, the layout of the pattern.
Here are the completed pieces. From left to right, the front, plain back and closure flap. Construction can begin.
The tiny key pocket is just to the right of the card slots. There’s a zippered pocket on the right for other odds and ends.
I remember being so pleased when I discovered that my key fit perfectly in the tiny pocket in this pouch that I wove. This pocket is part of the original warp and was not added later. Creating that special kind of warp that includes a pocket is a technique that I learned with one of my teachers here in Bolivia.
It was nice being able to use the sample for something.

Responses

  1. It’s impressive that you used your handspun cotton singles for this project, especially using blue and black dyes. Those colors can be so harsh when dying. Beautiful and creative as always!

    • Thank you so much. I’ve never given any thought to the potential harshness of those dye colors. Thanks for mentioning it. I do have some old 20/2 thread in black and another color and noticed how much weaker the black has become with age.

  2. Hi, Laverne,
    Just writing in to say how thorough and exact I found your instructions, diagrams and illustrations in the eye pattern tubular weave book. I was able to weave it right the first time. Thank you! An impressive feat of intellectual organization and communication! Best regards, Ann Pettit

    • Wow, what a lovely comment! Thank you so much for taking the time to drop me a line. I love that you’re enjoying the book.

      • Greatly. I’m going to try the other edgings too after I can weave the eyes from memory.


Leave a comment

Categories