Posted by: lavernewaddington | October 12, 2023

Backstrap Weaving – Expanding Skills

One panel of three that I wove for this project using wool singles in a three-color version of the structure I call Andean Pebble Weave..
This stitch can be found in some embroidery books as Van Dyke Stitch.
I used cotton lining fabric…you may recognize this fabric from some of my other recent projects. I don’t have a fabric stash and it was just pure luck that this print with its little red and green flowers and leaves suited this project so nicely.
A button and braided loop have completed the project.
The leaves on this piece varied according to how closely the warp threads were spaced in different areas. It’s just one of the challenges of doing warp-faced weaving on a backstrap loom.
Outside of my sampling notes, the way the threads lie along the cross sticks is the best indication of how wide this warp wants to be. But even so, the figures in my notebook will more often than not tell me that I need to spread the threads even more before I can start weaving. I have to trust those figures even though my eyes are telling me otherwise.
Maintaining width from start to finish.

Responses

  1. This post is a MASTER CLASS on planning, my goodness! Thank you Laverne for sharing the detailed notes you have kept about organizing the threads, taking time to sample, and paying attention to the details. Enjoy your Day!

  2. What a fantastic, beautiful, and usable project! It will be fun to see the next one that you have planned! Thanks also for all your planning information – very useful to all of us.

    • Hi Marilyn. Hopefully I’ll remember to take some step-by-step photos while I make the next one. I’m glad you’re finding my posts useful and thanks, as always, for taking the time to comment.


Leave a comment

Categories