Posted by: lavernewaddington | June 28, 2024

Backstrap Weaving – Back to a Blank Slate

This white warp provided a fresh blank slate onto which I could weave any motif I liked using supplementary weft in any color.
That matchstick screen on the right did the trick for years! Now every single wall adornment has been removed and won’t be going back up again no matter how long it takes me to sell this place and leave Bolivia forever.
Fortunately, I have some weaving shots that allow glimpses of what once was. The point of this photo was to show a silk ikat neck gaiter that I’d just finished.
This ad that I tore out of an American Airlines in-flight magazine gave me the idea to create ikat shapes and fill them with pick-up patterns.
Since my last post, I’ve washed and hard pressed this little sample and am pleased with its sheen and drape. It was quite stiff with its double amount of supplementary weft when it was on the loom. Given the improvement in drape, I’m thinking that it may work after all as a reversible neck gaiter.
Hopefully I’ll be sitting in front of a new “blank slate” warp like this soon.


Responses

  1. Laverne I love your smile! Enjoy your time left in Bolivia, Weave Away, Kelli


Leave a comment

Categories