Posted by: lavernewaddington | May 24, 2024

Backstrap Weaving – Are Two Sides Better than One?

The teal supplementary weft travels from selvedge to selvedge of the band and you can just make out the little teal bumps along the edge where the weft exits one shed and turns to enter the next.
In this silk scarf project I used 60/2 silk as the structural weft in the sections that didn’t have pattern and changed to a 140/2 structural weft when I added the supplementary weft.
I carried the supplementary weft from selvedge to selvedge to create the patterns at the two ends of the scarf. The little flower motifs in the main body were woven using the “frame” technique.
All the samples here used the “selvedge-to-selvedge” technique except the white band with turquoise pattern second from the right. There you can see how the turquoise weft turns on the surface of the cloth to frame the pattern of triangles.
The dark brown base, stem and branches of these plant figures were created with this wrapping technique. All other parts of the patterns were created using the “frame” technique.
The upper pattern of horizontal and vertical lines was woven using the wrapping technique.
The scarf I wove using various Bhutanese motifs and two supplementary-weft patterning techniques.
You can see the front and back of this profusely patterned head sash from Aguacatan, Guatemala on the left. The back is plain red. The supplementary weft threads only travel within the shed or float on the upper face of the fabric. They never appear on the back.
This is the back of my learning piece that I wove with one of my Guatemalan teachers. You can see all the weft tails have been left hanging. They could be cut shorter and left there or snipped off flush with the fabric.
This fabric that I was told is from Chichcastenango, Guatemala is part of a huipil that has been worn and laundered over many years. You can see how the weft tails have become tangled in a merry mess on the back.
I like the back of my textiles in these techniques to be open and plain. This is the back of the paisley scarf I showed above. Creating a “clean” back is, of course, is easy to do when the supplementary weft runs from selvedge to selvedge. When there are various color changes happening across the width of the warp as there are in the Guatemalan textiles that I’ve shown here, there’ll be many more weft tails with which to deal and carefully snip at the back of the cloth.
You can see the two faces of the Guatemalan textile on the left showing the double-faced nature of this technique. On the right is my own attempt at the pair of Guatemalan quetzal birds.
This little bee pattern is the first double-faced one that I learned with my teacher. You can see that it almost looks like a cross-stitch pattern with it’s identical “stitches” stacked neatly in columns.

Responses

  1. una tenda

  2. Beautiful pieces. And fascinating techniques!


Leave a comment

Categories